Communities First

  • PDF

The Communities First programme in Wales has recently gone through a significant change.


Three of the major changes to the Communities First programme are...


A clear focus on supporting three key outcomes:Communities First logo

o    Prosperous Communities

o    Learning Communities

o    Healthier Communities.


A move to larger Cluster areas. There are four in Cardiff:

  • BRG - Butetown, Riverside and Grangetown
  • STAR - Splott, Tremorfa, Adamsdown and Plasnewydd
  • ACE - Ely and Caerau, with Fairwater
  • East Cardiff, Llanedeyrn and Pentwyn - Rumney, Llanrumney, Llanedeyrn, Pentwyn, St Mellons and Trowbridge


The Outcomes are measurable using Results Based Accountability (RBA) - we need to demonstrate the difference we have made to the community by showing how much we’ve done, how well we’ve done it and who’s better off as a result.

For more information about Communities First, visit

Contact Us

Cardiff Third Sector Council (C3SC),
Ground Floor, Brunel House,
2 Fitzalan Road, Cardiff CF24 0EB

Tel: (029) 2048 5722
Fax: (029) 2046 4196


Twitter Icon - Letter T on aqua backgroundRSS Feed Icon - radiating lines on orange background

UK Investor in Equality & Diversity

Please note that C3SC cannot take responsibility for the information other organisations produce, for example, in their resources and on their websites.
The views of other organisations are not necessarily the views of C3SC.